Interview with Dr. Susana Gomez, the director of the English public cord blood bank

anthony-nolan
Dr. Susana Gomez heads a public cord blood bank Biobank created at the Anthony Nolan Centre of Cell Therapy (Nottingham, UK).

Biobank operates within the first and the world’s largest registry of hematopoietic stem cells. The cord blood Biobank, headed by Susana Gomez, stores cellular and non-cellular fractions of cord blood, that are used both clinically as hematopoietic stem cells transplants and for research purposes.

Dr. Susana Gomez kindly agreed to share experience of the organization of a public cord blood bank with the scientific staff of the Institute of Cell Therapy, and also gave a brief interview to the journal “Cell and Organ Transplantology”, which is published with the support of the Institute.

susanagomez

Photo source: http://www.anthonynolan.org/

Press: Mrs. Gomez, on the example of Biobak, that you head, we would be interested to discover how the public cord blood banks are being operated in the developed countries of the world?

Susana Gomez: From the perspective in the United Kingdom, it looks so that all hematopietic stem cells registries are closely cooperating with one another.  And this is very helpful, as the transplantation centre in UK goes only to one registry and this is enough to find a matching donor. From the perspective of cord blood, this approach is also much better as cooperating banks have the same quality measurement, we have the same processes of the umbilical cord blood procession and we do the same testing of a sample. Our goal is to provide the highest quality of the transplant. And this work together is very helpful in this goal.

Press: And how many samples are stored in your bank? What is the experience of their clinical application? To which countries have you released samples?

Susana Gomez: You know that Anthony Nolan Hematopoietic Stem Cells Registry was the first in the world, it is more than 40 years old. And the Anthony Nolan cord blood bank launched 5 years ago. Actually we store about 2 000 samples. During this period we released 25 cord blood samples to transplantation centres. Our main customers are the transplantation centres in the UK and the National Bone Marrow Program (NMDP) in USA. Such geographical distribution is mediated by HLA-matching, as you understand.

Press: And how do you evaluate the place of the umbilical cord blood among the other stem cells sources? To your mind, is it better than bone marrow, worse or maybe these sources are comparable?

Susana Gomez: Yes, it is quite comparable. It gives the tranplantologists and patients two options – to use hematopoietic stem cells of an adult donor or the cord blood to achieve the best immunologic matching. These sources should not compete with one another as the umbilical cord blood is just one more source of hematopoietic stem cells. And this is really good to have the option of choice. I think, it’s great for the patient because we can save more lives

Press: What is your attitude to private cord blood banks?

Susana Gomez: Well, I am a public one! But from my point of view parents should have two options. The most important thing is that the parents receive the most accurate information and quality service regardless they go to autologous bank or to public cord blood banks.

Press: Thank you very much for the interesting talk and we wish further development for your young but already quite successful bank!

The talk was recorded by C. Nasadyuk, immunologist, PhD.

The full version of the interview will be published in the journal “Cell and Organ Transplantology”.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Интервью с директором английского публичного банка пуповинной крови им. Антони Нолана Сусаной Гомез

anthony-nolanДоктор Сусана Гомез возглавляет публичный банк пуповинной крови Биобанк, созданный при Центре клеточной терапии им. Антони Нолана (Ноттингам, Великобритания).

В Биобанке пуповинной крови, которым руководит Сусана Гомез, в настоящее время хранятся клеточные и неклеточные фракции пуповинной крови, которые применяются как клинически в качестве трансплантaтов гемопоэтических стволовых клеток, так и используются с научными целями.

Доктор Сусана Гомез охотно согласилась поделиться опытом организации работы публичного банка пуповинной крови с научными сотрудниками Института клеточной терапии, а также дала небольшое интервью для журнала «Клеточная и органная трансплантология», который издается при поддержке Института.

susanagomez

Photo source: http://www.anthonynolan.org/

Ред.: Госпожа Гомез, нам было бы интересно узнать на примере возглавляемого Вами Биобанка, как функционируют публичные банки пуповинной крови в развитых странах мира?

Сусана Гомез: В разрезе Объединенного Королевства это выглядит так, что все реестры гемопоэтических стволовых клеток тесно сотрудничают между собой. И это очень хорошо, поскольку трансплантационным центрам в Великобритании достаточно обратиться только в один реестр, чтобы найти совместимого донора. С точки зрения пуповинной крови, такой подход тоже намного лучше, так как банки, сотрудничающие между собой, имеют одинаковые согласованные критерии качества, у нас одинаковые процессы обработки пуповинной крови, и мы проводим одинаковые исследования образца. Наша цель – обеспечить наивысшее качество трансплантата. И совместная работа нам в этом очень помагает.

Ред.: А сколько образцов хранится в Вашем банке? Какой опыт их клинического применения? В какие страны Вам приходилось предоставлять образцы пуповинной крови?

Сусана Гомез: Вы знаете, что реестр доноров костного мозга им. Антони Нолана – первый в мире, ему более 40 лет! А банк пуповинной крови им. Антони Нолана начал свою деятельность 5 лет назад, и в настоящее время у нас хранится 2 000 образцов. За это время в трансплантационные центры мы выдали 25 образцов пуповинной крови. Наши главные потребители – это трансплантационные центры в Объединенном Королевстве и Национальная программа доноров костного мозга (National Bone Marrow Program (NMDP) в США. Такое географическое распределение, как Вы понимаете, обусловлено конечно же HLA-фенотипом.

Ред.: А как Вы оцениваете пуповинную кровь среди других источников гемопоэтических стволовых клеток? На Ваш взгляд, она лучше, чем костный мозг или периферическая кровь, хуже или же эти источники сопоставимы?

Сусана Гомез: Да, она вполне сопоставима! Это дает трансплантологам и пациентам возможность выбора – применить гемопоэтические стволовые клетки взрослого донора или же пуповинную кровь с целью обеспечения лучшей иммунологической совместимости. Эти источники не должны конкурировать между собой, ведь пуповинная кровь – это просто еще один источник гемопоэтических стволовых клеток. И это действительно хорошо иметь возможность выбора! Я думаю, это замечательно для пациента, потому что мы можем спасти больше жизней!

Ред.: А как Вы относитесь к частным банкам пуповинной крови?

Сусана Гомез: Я представляю публичный банк. Но с моей точки зрения, у родителей должен быть выбор! Главное, чтобы родители получали наиболее точную информацию и качественную услугу в независимости от того, обратятся они в аутологичный или публичный банк.

Ред.: Спасибо за интересный разговор, и мы желаем дальнейшего развития Вашему молодому, но уже достаточно успешному банку!

Беседу вела К.М. Насадюк, врач-иммунолог, к.мед.н.

Полная версия интервью будет напечатана в журнале «Клеточная и органная трансплантология».

 

 

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.