Mesenchymal stem cells are studied for the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease

altsgeimer
In May 2017, in USA the company “Longeveron”, specializing on regenerative medicine drugs announced about the beginning of phase 1 of the clinical trial on the evaluation of the safety, tolerability and efficacy of mesenchymal stem cells in the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease.

The trial is approved by the Data Monitoring Committee (DMC) in USA, which reviewed it towards safety, having analyzed the data on treatment of 5 patients with Alzheimer’s disease. In USA, Data Monitoring Committee is the independent group of experts, who regularly review the data from current clinical trials and report on the safety of project as well as it validity and scientific merit to the sponsor.

Dr. Barry Baumek, the principal investigator and director of the group of trials on the memory disorders of the Department of Neurology of the Miller School of Medicine of the Miami University concluded the following: “The treatment of the first 5 patients in our program showed that the application of mesenchymal stem cells in the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease is safe. Now we are going to continue enrollment to evaluate whether cell therapy is effective in this disorder, i.e. whether it inhibits the progression of the course of this disease.”

This study is the USA first clinical trial on the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease by means of administration of exogenous mesenchymal stem cells, derived from the bone marrow of adult donors.

The same stem cells may be derived from the umbilical cord blood, collected at childbirth.

Source: https://www.bioinformant.com/longeveron-begins-phase-1-alzheimers-disease-trial/

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Мезенхимальные стволовые клетки изучаются для лечения болезни Альцгеймера

altsgeimer

В мае 2017 г. компания “Longeveron” в США, специализирующаяся на препаратах для регенеративной медицины, объявила о начале 1 фазы клинического исследования по изучению безопасности, переносимости и эффективности мезенхимальных стволовых клеток в лечении болезни Альцгеймера.

Исследование одобрено Комитетом по мониторингу данных (Data Monitoring Committee (DMC) в США, которое оценило его на предмет безопасности, проанализировав результаты лечения 5 пациентов с болезнью Альцгеймера. Комитет по мониторингу данных в США – это независимая группа экспертов, которые регулярно анализируют данные текущих клинических исследований и отчитываются спонсору исследования относительно безопасности проекта, а также его валидности и научной ценности.

Д-р Барри Баумель, главный исследователь и директор группы трайлов, посвященных расстройствам памяти отделения неврологии Миллерской школы медицины университета Майами сделал следующее заключение: «Лечение первых 5 пациентов, принявших участие в нашей программе, показало, что применение мезенхимальных стволовых клеток в лечении болезни Альцгеймера является безопасным. Сейчас мы собираемся продолжить набор пациентов, чтобы выяснить, эффективна ли клеточная терапия при этом заболевании, а именно, останавливает ли его прогрессирование.»

Данный трайл является первым клиническим исследованиям в США по лечению болезни Альцгеймера экзогенно введенными мезенхимальными стволовыми клетками, выделенными из костного мозга взрослых доноров. Аналогичные стволовые клетки можно получить также из пуповинной крови, собранной при рождении ребенка.

По материалам: https://www.bioinformant.com/longeveron-begins-phase-1-alzheimers-disease-trial/

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.