New trends in the use of cryopreserved placenta preparations

105
Placenta preparations from early ages have been used to treat wounds in ancient soldiers, according to extant legends placenta masks are one of the beauty secrets of Cleopatra.

Pronounced wound-healing properties of the extracts of the placenta and placental tissue fragments were known to Hippocrates (5th c. BC). Modern scientists did not lose interest to placenta  and developed highly efficient cryotechnologies, enabling long-term storage of placental tissue in liquid nitrogen (-196 C) without losing its valuable biologically active substances, such as growth factors. It is also proved that the placenta is a rich source of hematopoietic and mesenchymal stem cells, which are increasingly used in regenerative medicine, bioengineering of organoids, primarily osteochondral conduits, since, as shown by scientists, placental stem cells have the highest osteogenic potential.

New trends in the use of placental drugs in modern medicine include the production of placental tissue allografts for the treatment of burns, nonhealing ulcers, chronic wounds and eye operations.

May 22-25, 2015 Istanbul (Turkey) hosted the 41st Conference of the European Group on Blood and Marrow Transplantation – EBMT. This is the most important annual event in the European and world hematological transplantation, gathering thousands of experts from all over the world. In 2015, at the EBMT conference, a group of authors from Spain (M. Rodrıguez et al.) presented an extremely interesting and challenging work “Cryopreserved amniotic membrane improves healing of chronic wounds”.

Amniotic membrane is non-tumorigenic tissue, characterized by low immunogenicity, anti-inflammatory, antifibrotic and antimicrobial action due to its ability to synthesize cytokines and growth factors. From the point of view of scientists, amniotic membrane of the placenta, which is in most cases discarded after childbirth, may be used as a biological dressing for treating chronic wounds in diabetic and nondiabetic patients.

Amniotic membrane was obtained by cesarean section in the presence of informed consent of mothers. Prepared pieces of amniotic membrane were used only in caseof the negative results of the serological tests 3 months later. Amniotic membrane was applied weekly or every 10 days until complete healing or partial re-epithelialization of ulcers. On average, one course of treatment included 3-8 amniotic membrane fragments. The average duration of treatment was 45 days. In the course of treatment reduction of size of ulcers up to 76% was noted and  in 4 of 6 patients complete epithelialization of the wound was achieved.

Ukrainian scientists also may be proud of the great scientific and clinical experience in the use of placental drugs and tissue allografts. For example, the Institute of Cell Therapy developed and implemented into clinical practice methods of wounds and burns treatment based on the use of  placental fragments, and corneal transplants derived from the amniotic membrane. Also, the Institute of Cell Therapy has exclusive author’s methods of manufacturing of highly efficient placenta preparations for the application in cosmetics and medical practice, including programs of puerperal rehabilitation and individualized anti-age therapy.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Новые тренды в применении криоконсервированных препаратов плаценты

105Препараты плаценты испокон веков применялись для лечения ран у древних воинов и, согласно дошедшим до нас легендам, плацентарные маски – один из секретов красоты Клеопатры.

Выраженные ранозаживляющие свойства экстрактов плаценты и фрагментов плацентарной ткани были известны еще Гиппократу (5 в. до н.э.). Не угасает интерес к плаценте и в современной науке, которой разработаны высокоэффективные криотехнологии, дающие возможность длительного хранения плацентарной ткани в жидком азоте (-196 С) без потери ею ценных биологически активных веществ, в частности факторов роста. Также доказано, что плацента – богатый источник гемопоэтических и мезенхимальных стволовых клеток, которые находят широкое применение в регенеративной медицине, биоинженерии органоидов, прежде всего костно-хрящевых кондуитов, поскольку, как показано учеными, именно стволовые клетки плацены обладают самым высоким остеогенным поенциалом.

Новые тренды в применении плацентарных препаратов в современной медицине включают изготовление аллографтов плацентарной ткани для лечения ожогов, длительно незаживающих язв, хронических ран и офтальмологических операций.

22-25 мая в г. Стамбул (Турция) состоялась 41-ая конференция Европейской группы по трансплантации крови и костного мозга (European Blood and Marrow Transplantation – EBMT). Это важнейшее ежегодное событие в европейской и мировой гематологической трансплантологии, собирающее несколько тысяч специалистов со всех континентов. В 2015 г. на конференции ЕВМТ группа авторов из Испании (M. Rodrıguez et al.) представила чрезвычайно интересную и перспективную работу «Криоконсервированная амниотическая оболочка плаценты улучшает заживление хронических ран» (Cryopreserved amniotic membrane improves healing of chronic wounds).

Амниотическая оболочка – это нетуморогенная ткань, характеризирующаяся низкой иммуногенностью, противовоспалительным, антифибротическим и противомикробным действием, что объясняется ее способностью синтезировать цитокины и факторы роста. С точки зрения ученых, амниотическая мембрана плаценты, которая преимущественно выбрасывается после родов, может применяться в качестве биологической повязки для лечения хронических ран у диабетических и недиабетических пациентов.

Амниотические оболочки получали при операциях кесарева сечения при наличии информированного согласия роженицы. Приготовленные фрагменты амниотической оболочки применялись только при получении негативных результатов серологических исследований через 3 месяца. Амниотические оболочки применялись еженедельно или каждые 10 дней до полного заживления или частичной реэпитализации язв. В среднем на один курс лечения использовалось 3-8 фрагментов амниотической оболочки. Средняя длительность курса лечения выносила 45 дней. В процессе лечения отмечено уменьшения размера язвы до 76% и у 4 из 6 пациентов удалось достигнуть полной эпителизации раны.

Огромным научным и клиническим опытом применения плацентарных препаратов и аллографтов могут похвастаться и украинские ученые. Так, Институтом клеточной терапии (Киев) разработаны и внедрены вклиническую практику методы лечения ран и ожогов с применением фрагментов плаценты, а также трансплантатов роговицы, полученных из амниотической оболочки. Также Институт клеточной терапии владеет эксклюзивными авторскими методиками изготовления высокоэффективных плацентарных препаратов для применения в косметологии и медицинской практике, в том числе в программах послеродовой реабилитации и индувидуализированной противовозрастной терапии.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.