Overview of the conference “Stem Cells and Tissue Engineering” (Denmark, 2015)

dbc-organizer-20154-5 June 2015, Vejle (Denmark) hosted an international scientific conference “Stem Cells and Tissue Engineering”, organized with the support of the Danish Stem Cell Society and the Danish Biotechnological Society.

 

 

Conference “Stem Cells and Tissue Engineering” (2015) included the following thematic sections:

1. Cloning and reprogramming
2. Stem cells in the treatment of diabetes
3. Production, banking and upscaling of stem cells for disease modelling
4. Ethics in stem cell research
5. Bioengineering and transplantation
6. Tissue engineering and organ design
7. Regenerative medicine

Themes of the conference “Stem Cells and Tissue Engineering” shows increased attention of modern scientists to the study of induced pluripotent stem cells, which hold great promise of bioengineering, treatment of a number of serious diseases, modeling of diseases in the experiment. For the discovery of induced pluripotent stem cells in 2012, researchers John Gurdon and Shinya Yamanaka were awarded the Nobel Prize. We recall that cord blood cells are considered the most promising biomaterial to obtain stem cells with induced pluripotency.

The author Xianmin Zeng of California (USA) presented the results of research on the dopaminergic neurons from pluripotent stem cells for potential use in the treatment of Parkinson’s disease.

Dr. Timothy Allsopp from the research division of the company «Pfizer» presented the project of the European Bank for pluripotent stem cells, for the discovery of which in 2012, researchers John B.Gurdon and Shinya Yamanaka were awarded the Nobel Prize. Induced pluripotent stem cells are promising from the point of view of treating various diseases and tissue engineering, as well as for modeling of disease in the experiment.

Dr. Kim Jensen from the University of Copenhagen (Denmark) considered the role of progenitor cells from the epithelium of the small intestine in the development of cancer and possible ways to control the behavior of these cells.

Researchers from London University College and the Institute of Ophthalmology (UK) discussed new methods of treatment of age-related macular degeneration of the retina based on the use of stem cells.

Dr. Ulrich Martin (Germany) presented the approaches to the use of induced pluripotent stem cells in cardiology and expressed the hope that in the coming few years these pioneering treatments will be introduced into clinical practice.

Dr. Petter Björquist from «NovoHep AB» presented an interesting paper “Stem cell bio-engineering and individualisation of human organs – applications in regenerative medicine and toxicity testing” So, the scientists proposed a new organ bioengineering technology, which is based on seeding of patient’s own stem cells on a decellularised donor matrix, which allows to turn allogenic tissue into autologous. This method solves two problems – to get donor biomaterial and eliminate the need for immunosuppression after transplantation. The developed technology opens up the possibility of creating tissue-engineered organs such as kidneys, liver, pancreas, blood vessels. Researchers are preparing for the first phase of clinical trials of tissue-engineered veins.

A team of scientists from Denmark, Switzerland and Germany presented the technology of creating of 3D-models of the pancreas for potential use in the treatment of diabetes.

Programm

Source: stemcellclinic.com

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Обзор докладов конференции «Стволовые клетки и тканевая инженерия» (Дания, 2015)

dbc-organizer-20154-5 июня 2015 г. в г. Вейле (Дания) при поддержке Датского общества стволовых клеток и Датского биотехнологического общества состоялась международная научная конференция «Стволовые клетки и тканевая инженерия».

 

 

Конференция «Стволовые клетки и тканевая инженерия» (2015) включала следующие тематические секции:

1) Клонирование и репрограммирование
2) Стволовые клетки в лечении сахарного диабета
3) Банкирование стволовых клеток
4) Этические вопросы исследования стволовых клеток
5) Биоинженерия и трансплантация
6) Тканевая инженерия и проектирование органов
7) Регенеративная медицина

Тематика докладов конференции «Стволовые клетки и тканевая инженерия» свидетельствует о повышенном внимании современных ученых к исследованию индуцированных плюрипотентных стволовых клеток, которые открывают огромные перспективы биоинженерии органов, лечения ряда тяжелых заболеваний, моделирования болезней в эксперименте. За открытие индуцированных плюрипотентных стволовых клеток в 2012 г. ученые Джон Гердон и Синья Яманака удостоены Нобелевской премии. Напомним, что клетки пуповинной крови считаются наиболее перспективным биоматериалом для получения стволовых клеток с индуцированной плюрипотентностью.

Автором Xianmin Zeng из Калифорнии (США) представлено результаты исследований по созданию допаминергических нейронов из плюрипотентных стволовых клеток для потенциального применения в лечении болезни Паркинсона.

Доктор Timothy Allsopp из исследовательского подразделения компании «Pfizer» представил проект создания Европейского банка плюрипотентных стволовых клеток.
Доктор Kim Jensen из университета Копенгагена (Дания) расммотрел роль стволовых клеток-предшественников эпителия тонкой кишки в развитии злокачественных опухолей и возможные способы контроля поведения этих клеток.

Исследователями из Лондонского университетского колледжа и Института офтальмологии (Великобритания) рассмотрены новые методы лечения возрастной макулярной дегенерации сетчатки, основанные на применении стволовых клеток.
Доктор Ulrich Martin (Германия) представил подходы к применению индуцированных плюрипотентных стволовых клеток в кардиологии и выразил надежду, что в ближайшие несколько лет эти пионерские методы лечения будут внедрены в клиническую практику.

Доктор Petter Björquist из компании «NovoHep AB» представил интереснейшую работу на тему «Биоинженерия и индивидуализация человеческих органов из стволовых клеток – применение в регенеративной медицине и исследовании токсичности». Так, учеными предложена новая технология биоинженерии органа, которая основывается на засеивании донорской децелюляризированной матрицы собственными стволовыми клетками пациента, что позволяет превратить аллогенную ткань в аутологическую. Данный метод позволяет решить две задачи – получить донорский биоматериал и устранить необходимость иммуносупрессии после трансплантации. Разработанная технология открывает возможность создания тканевоинженерных органов, таких как почки, печень, поджелудочная железа, сосуды. Исследователи готовятся к проведению первой фазы клинических исследований тканевоинженерных вен.

А группой ученых из Дании, Швейцарии, Германии представлена технология создания 3D-моделей поджелудочной железы для потенциального применения в лечении сахарного диабета.

Программа конференции

По материалам: stemcellclinic.com

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.