Stem cell preparation, manufactured in the biotechnological laboratory of the Institute of Cell Therapy, saved ATO fighter from heart transplant

A unique operation was performed in the Institute of Surgery and Transplantology n.a. O.O. Shalimov of the Academy of Medical Sciences of Ukraine – cord blood stem cells were transplanted to a 28-year-old ATO soldier, suffering from cardiomyopathy. The doctors hoped that cell therapy could help the young man, whose heart was contracting only for 11% to wait till a new heart transplant would be found. But after 6 months the physician revealed that transplanted stem cells restored affected heart to such an extent that the transplantation of a new organ was not required anymore. Cell preparation, used in the treatment, was manufactured in the biotechnological laboratory of the Institute of Cell Therapy.

As a result of wounds received in the ATO area, the guy had injured liver and lungs and the physians had to remove his kidney. But the stress, experienced at war, caused also a heart disorder – it almost did not contract at all. The guy was diagnosed with cardiomyopathy, and the only solution seemed to be a transplantation of the donor heart. The young patient could not pass even a dozen meters because of shortness of breath that disturbed him even during rest. And now 6 months after cell transplantation, the electrocardiogram of the patient is normal and treadmill examination shows no shortness of breath. So when the patient arrived in Belarus for a heart transplant, it was found that it is not needed anymore. Today the heart of a fighter contracts for 40% and he plans to marry. The doctors themselves did not believe in such a success of cord blood stem cells.

Today there are thousands of patients in Ukraine waiting in line for a heart transplant, which is available only abroad, and stem cell therapy could help these patients.

Based on the data of TVchannels “Ukraine” and “1 + 1”.

For years, scientists of the Institute of Cell Therapy, a co-founder and the active member of the Association of Cryobanks, in cooperation with leading research institutions of Ukraine is actively working at the development of the new treatments for cardiovascular diseases using stem cells and their implementation into practical medicine. Today the Institute of Cell Therapy has completed a clinical trial “The Evaluation Of Clinical Efficacy Of Cord Blood Stem Cell Transplant To Restore Impaired Contractile Function Of The Heart” and continues a clinical trial “Evaluation Of The Effectiveness Of Stem Cells Of The Bone Marrow, Placenta And Combinations In Patients With Ischemic Cardiomyopathy.”

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Препарат стволовых клеток, изготовленный биотехнологической лабораторией ИКТ, спас бойца АТО от трансплантации сердца

В Институте хирургии и трансплантологии им. А.А. Шалимова АМН Украины провели уникальную операцию – 28-летнему бойцу АТО, больному кардиомиопатией, провели трансплантацию стволовых клеток пуповинной крови. Врачи надеялись, что клеточная терапия поможет юноше, чье сердце работало только на 11%, дождаться нового сердца для трансплантации. Но через 6 месяцев оказалось, что пересаженные стволовые клетки восстановили больное сердце до такого уровня, что трансплантация нового органа уже не нужна. Клеточный препарат, который применялся в лечении, изготовлен биотехнологической лабораторией Института клеточной терапии.

Вследствие ранений, полученных в зоне АТО, парень получил травму печени и легких, а также врачи были вынуждены удалить пациенту почку. Но пережитый на войне стресс привел и к поражению сердца – оно почти не сокращалось. Парню поставили диагноз – кардиомиопатия, и единственным выходом казалась трансплантация донорского сердца. Молодой пациент не мог пройти и десятка метров через приступы одышки, которая беспокоила его и в состоянии покоя. И вот 6 месяцев после клеточной трансплантации электрокардиограмма парня в норме, а исследование тредмил не выявляет одышку. Поэтому когда пациент приехал в Беларусь на трансплантацию сердца, оказалось, что она не нужна. На сегодняшний день сердце бойца работает на 40%, и парень планирует жениться. В такой успех применения стволовых клеток пуповинной крови не верили сами врачи.

На сегодняшний день в Украине тысячи пациентов стоят в очереди на трансплантацию сердца, которую делают только за рубежом, и этим больным могла бы помочь терапия стволовыми клетками.

По материалам телеканалов «Украина» и «1 + 1».

На протяжении многих лет ученые Института клеточной терапии, который является соучредителем и действительным членом Ассоциации криобанков, в сотрудничестве с ведущими научно-исследовательскими учреждениями Украины активно работают над разработкой и внедрением в практическую медицину новых методов лечения сердечно-сосудистых заболеваний с применением стволовых клеток. На сегодняшний день Институтом клеточной терапии завершено клиническое исследование «Оценка клинической эффективности трансплантации стволовых клеток кордовой крови для восстановления нарушенной сократительной функции сердца», и продолжается клиническое исследование «Оценка эффективности применения стволовых клеток костного мозга, плаценты и их комбинаций при лечении больных ишемической кардиомиопатией».

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.