Umbilical cord blood in the treatment of diabetes mellitus

saharnii-diabet
Diabetes mellitus is the third most prevalent disease in the world after cardiovascular disorders and cancer and diabetes mellitus complications are an important cause of decreased quality of life and disability in the working age population.

The definition “diabetes” includes a group of diseases that are accompanied by an increased blood sugar level (hyperglycemia) due to decreased production of the hormone insulin, lowering blood sugar (type 1 diabetes) or insulin nonperception by cell receptors (type 2 diabetes).

Before the discovery of insulin in 1921 patients with diabetes mellitus died in a period of several weeks to several years after onset of the disease. Currently lifelong insulin replacement therapy is the main method of treatment of diabetes, which significantly increases the quality and duration of life of patients, but is not a cure for this disease.

diabet_sci

F. Banting and John Macleod – received the Nobel Prize for the discovery of insulin.

Modern scientists hope to overcome diabetes mellitus using stem cells.

Basic approaches to the treatment of diabetes mellitus based on update cellular technologies include:

Transplantation of donor pancreatic tissue containing insulin-producing beta cells of the Langerhans islets. Currently about 750 such operations were performed worldwide, but there are cases of transplant rejection and widespread adoption of this technique in clinical practice is hampered by the lack of donor material.

Cultivation of insulin-producing beta cells from stem cells, particularly from induced pluripotent stem cells (iPS cells), discovered in 2012.This is an extremely complex and costly method, which clinical efficacy is still being investigated.

The infusion of umbilical cord blood. In the last decade in Europe and in the United States of America it was reported that infusions of umbilical cord blood, rich in stem cells, allow to reduce the blood sugar level of diabetics for some period of time and have a positive effect on the course of disease and quality of life of patients.

Transplantation of hematopoietic stem cells from bone marrow or umbilical cord blood after immunosuppressive therapy. At the moment it is the most reasonable modern approach to treatment of type 1 diabetes, with which the scientists associate the real hope for a cure for this disease. To date, about 100 multicenter clinical trials of this treatment are officially registered worldwide.

diabet_treat

In terms of modern medicine type 1 diabetes is considered an autoimmune disease in which the insulin-producing cells in the pancreas are destroyed by autoantibodies. There is evidence that in the early stages of the disease, when not all insulin-producing cells are destroyed, immunosuppressive chemotherapy followed by stem cell transplantation may stop this process.

Transplantation of mesenchymal stem cells.

Bone marrow, umbilical cord blood, umbilical cord tissue, placenta, adipose tissue are rich in mesenchymal stem cells. It was proved that mesenchymal stem cells are able to inhibit the formation of autoantibodies that destroy insulin-producing cells in the pancreas. Thus, the American biotechnological company Osiris Therapeutics and Research Foundation Of Juvenile Diabetes initiated a clinical study (Phase 2) to examine the effectiveness of the cell preparation PROCHYMAL® based on human bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells of a donor in the treatment of type 1 diabetes. The effectiveness of therapy by mesenchymal stem cells of other autoimmune diseases – Crohn’s disease, rheumatoid arthritis, multiple sclerosis, etc was also shown.

• Use of endothelial progenitor cells .

One of the most frequent and severe complications of diabetes mellitus are cardiovascular diseases, leading eventually to the development of lower limb ischemia, chronic ulcers, diabetic foot, kidney failure, blindness. Endothelial cell progenitors, in which umbilical cord blood is particularly rich, are precursors of blood vessels and are considered as innovative methods of treatment of vascular insufficiency and for tissue-engineering of blood vessels and heart valves.

In Ukraine, the experience of treatment of diabetes mellitus type 1 and 2 using cord blood stem cells was accumulated in the Institute of Cell Therapy (Kiev) and Research Institute of Emergency and Reconstructive Surgery n.a.VK Husak (Donetsk) .

Detailed information about the methods of treatment:

Institute of Cell Therapy

International Center of Biotechnology BIOSTEM

more articles

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Пуповинная кровь в лечении сахарного диабета

saharnii-diabetСахарный диабет занимает третье место в мире после сердечно-сосудистых и онкологических заболеваний, а осложнения сахарного диабета – важная причина снижения качества жизни и инвалидизации работоспособного населения.

Под сахарным диабетом рассматривают группу заболеваний, которые сопровождаются повышением уровня сахара в крови (гипергликемия) вследствие недостаточного образования гормона инсулина, снижающего уровень сахара в крови (сахарный диабет 1 типа) или же невосприятием инсулина соответствующими клеточными рецепторами (сахарный диабет 2 типа).

До открытия инсулина в 1921 г. больные диабетом умирали в период от нескольких недель до нескольких лет после дебюта заболевания. В настоящее время пожизненная заместительная терапия инсулином – основной метод лечения сахарного диабета, который значительно увеличивает качество и длительность жизни пациентов, но не позволяет излечить это заболевание.

diabet_sci

Ф. Бантинг и Дж. Маклеод – получили Нобелевскую премию за открытие инсулина.

Надежды современных ученых на преодоление сахарного диабета связаны со стволовыми клетками.

Основные подходы лечения сахарного диабета на основе клеточных технологий на сегодняшний день включают:

  • Пересадку донорской ткани поджелудочной железы, содержащей инсулин-продуцирующие бета-клетки островков Лангерханса. В настоящее время в мире выполнено около 750 таких операций, однако нередки случаи отторжения трансплантата, а нехватка донорского материала препятствует широкому внедрению этого метода в клиническую практику.
  • Культивирование инсулин-продуцирующих бета-клеток из стволовых клеток, в частности открытых в 2012 г. индуцированных полипотентных стволовых клеток (iPS cells). Это чрезвычайно сложный и затратный метод, клиническая эффективность которого пока исследуется.
  • Инфузии пуповинной крови. В последнее десятилетие в Европе и США появились сообщения, что инфузии пуповинной крови, богатой стволовыми клетками, позволяют на некоторое время добиться снижения уровня сахара в крови больных диабетом, положительно влияют на течение заболевания и качество жизни пациентов.
  • Трансплантация гемопоэтических стволовых клеток костного мозга или пуповинной крови после иммуносупрессивной терапии.В настоящее время это наиболее обоснованный современный подход к лечению сахарного диабета 1 типа, с которыми ученые связывают реальные надежды на излечение этого заболевания. На сегодняшний день в мире официально зарегистрировано около 100 многоцентровых клинических исследований данного метода лечения.

diabet_treat

В разрезе современной медицины сахарный диабет 1 типа считается аутоиммунным заболеванием, при котором инсулин-продуцирующие клетки поджелудочной железы разрушаются аутоантилами. Имеются данные, что на ранних стадиях заболевания, когда еще не все инсулин-продуцирующие клетки разрушены, этот процесс возможно остановить, назначив пациенту иммуносупрессивную химиотерапию с последующей трансплантацией гемопоэтических стволовых клеток:

  • Трансплантация мезенхимальных стволовых клеток. Мезенхимальными стволовыми клетками богаты костный мозг, пуповинная кровь, ткань пупочного канатика, плацента, жировая ткань. Доказано, что мезенхимальные стволовые клетки способны угнетать образование аутоантител, разрушающих клетки поджелудочной железы, которые производят инсулин. Так, американской биотехнологической компанией Osiris Therapeutics и Фундацией по исследованию ювенильного сахарного диабета инициировано клиническое исследование (2 фаза) по изучению эффективности клеточного препарата PROCHYMAL® на основе донорских мезенхимальных стволовых клеток костного мозга человека в лечении сахарного диабета 1 типа. Кроме лечения сахарного диабета, показана эффективность терапии мезенхимальными стволовыми клетками ряда других аутоиммунных заболеваний – болезни Крона, ревматоидного артрита, рассеянного склероза и др.
  • Применение клеток-эндотелиальных прогениторов. Одним из наиболее частых и тяжелых осложнений сахарного диабета являются сосудистые заболевания, приводящие в итоге к развитию ишемии нижних конечностей, хронических язв, диабетической стопы, почечной недостаточности, слепоты. Эндотелиальные клетки-прогениторы, которыми особенно богата пуповинная ковь, являются предшественниками сосудов и применяются в инновационнах методах лечения сосудистой недостаточности и тканевой инженерии сосудов и клапанов сердца.

В Украине опыт лечения сахарного диабета  с применением стволовых клеток накоплен Институтом клеточной терапии (Киев) и научно-исследовательским институтом неотложной и восстановительной хирургии им. В.К. Гусака НАНУ (Донецк).

Детальная информация о методах лечения на сайтах:

 Институт клеточной терапии
МЦБ «Биостем»

другие статьи

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.