Ukrainian method of pancreonecrosis treatment was acknowledged by the international organization ParentsGuidetoCordBloodFoundation

logo
The drug created in the Institute of Cell Therapy, saves lives!
The stem cell based preparation created in the Institute of Cell Therapy opens new opportunities in the treatment of pancreonecrosis.

Pancreatonecrosis is a severe complication of acute pancreatitis (inflammation of the pancreas). The mortality rate for necrotizing pancreatitis makes 40-70%.

The therapy developed by the Institute of Cell Therapy, based on the application of cord blood stem cells, significantly improved the results of treatment of this severe disease.

The novel therapy and drug Pancrostem attracted the attention of a number of foreign orgaisations, including the Parent’s Guide to Cord Blood Foundation, which is the authoritative public organization, promoting awareness of the population about the possibilities of treatment with umbilical cord blood stem cells as well as cord blood preservation.

A new method of treatment of pancreatic necrosis has been tested in a randomized, placebo-controlled clinical studies that lasted three years – from 2008 to 2011. The study involved 179 patients, of which the control group included 106 patients and 73 patients were receiving therapy with Pancrostem.

Pancrostem contains cord blood stem cells.

The results of the study showed that Pancrostem statistically significantly improved the recovery outcomes for patients with pancreatic necrosis and survival rates for this severe disease. The hospital stay of the patients who were appointed Pancrostem, was 1.47-fold shorter compared to the control group, not treated with this medication. The overall mortality rate in the group treated with Pancrostem was 2.06-fold lower compared to control.

Promising results were obtained in patients with necrotizing pancreatitis, treated by stem cells preparation, reducing the frequency of gastrointestinal bleeding. Compared to the control group, this index was 4.71 lower. In 30-50% of patients with pancreatic necrosis pancreatic cysts develop, but in the Pancrostem-treated group the number of such patients was 6.1%. The frequency of postoperative complications in the Pancrostem-treated group was 24.7%, whereas in the control group this index reached 48.1%.

Based on the results of this study, the Ministry of Health of Ukraine in 2012 approved the drug Pancrostem, developed by the Institute of Cell Therapy, as a standard component of the treatment of pancreatic necrosis. In the same year, another stem cell drug, created by the scientists of the Institute of Cell Therapy, was introduced in the standards of treatment of critical limb ischemia. Currently 4 more drugs developed by the Institute of Cell Therapy are being tested in ongoing clinical trials for the treatment of cardiomyopathy, hepatitis, liver cirrhosis and diabetes mellitus type 2.

For more information about the innovative method of treatment of pancreatic necrosis, developed by the specialists of the Institute of Cell Therapy, please visit http://parentsguidecordblood.org/en/news/novel-treatment-pancreonecrosis-using-cord-blood-and-cord-tissue 
The acknowledgement of the method of treatment of pancreonecrosis, developed by Ukrainian scientists, by foreign experts once again states about the high level of national investigations in the field of stem cells research and high marketability of the Institute of Cell Therapy.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Созданный в Украине метод лечения панкреонекроза признан международной организаций ParentsGuidetoCordBloodFoundation

logoПрепарат, созданный в Институте клеточной терапии, спасает жизни!
Новые возможности в лечении панкреонекроза открывает применение препарата стволовых клеток, созданного в Институте клеточной терапии.
Панкреонекроз – тяжелое осложнение острого панкреатита (воспаления поджелудочной железы). Смертность при панкреонекрозе составляет 40-70%.

Разработанный Институтом клеточной терапии метод применения стволовых клеток пуповинной крови значительно улучшил результаты лечения этого тяжелого заболевания.

Что же касается применения препарата стволовых клеток при панкреонекрозе, этим методом и самим препаратом Pancrostem уже заинтересовался ряд зарубежных организаций, в том числе Parent’s Guide to Cord Blood Foundation, авторитетная общественная организация, способствующая повышению осведомленности населения о возможностях терапии стволовыми клетками пуповинной крови, а также ее сохранения.

Новый метод лечения панкреонекроза прошел испытания в ходе рандомизированных плацебо-контролируемых клинических исследований, которые продолжались три года – с 2008 по 2011. В исследовании приняли участие 179 пациентов, из них 106 – в группе контроля и 73 пациента, получавших терапию препаратом Pancrostem.

Сам препарат является продуктом пуповинной крови, содержащим стволовые клетки.

Результаты исследования показали, что Pancrostem статистически достоверно улучшал как результаты выздоровления для пациентов с панкреонекрозом, так и показатели выживаемости при этом тяжелом заболевании. Пациенты, которым был назначен Pancrostem, находились в стационаре в 1,47 раз меньше, чем пациенты из контрольной группы, а общая смертность после лечения в группе приема препарата была ниже в 2,06 раза.

При традиционном лечении у пациентов с панкреонекрозом в 30-50% случаев развиваются панкреатические кисты, однако в группе, где применялся Pancrostem, число таких пациентов составило 6,1%. Частота послеоперационных осложнений в группе препарата составил 24,7%, в то время, как в контрольной группе этот показатель достиг 48,1%.

Опираясь на результаты приведенного исследования, Министерство здравоохранения Украины в 2012 году утвердило препарат Pancrostem, разработанный Институтом клеточной терапии, как составляющую стандартной терапии панкреонекроза. В этом же году еще один препарат стволовых клеток, созданный исследователями Института клеточной терапии, был введен в стандарты лечения критической ишемии нижних конечностей. В настоящий момент продолжаются клинические испытания еще четырех препаратов, разработанных в Институте клеточной терапии, которые назначают при кардиомиопатии, гепатите, циррозе печени и сахарном диабете 2 типа.

Более подробно ознакомиться с инновационным методом лечения панкреонекроза, разработанным специалистами Института клеточной терапии, можно на сайте международной организации Parent’s Guide to Cord Blood Foundation
Признание зарубежными экспертами метода лечения панкреонекроза, разработанного украинскими учеными, еще раз свидетельствует о высоком уровне отечественных исследований в области изучения стволовых клеток и высокой конкурентоспособности Института клеточной терапии.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.