Prof. Smolyaninov AB left this life

smolyaninovAssociation of Cryobanks sadly reports that on the May 7th, 2015 suddenly and prematurely died Prof. Alexander Borisovich Smolyaninov, MD, PhD, Dr.med.sci, CEO of Pokrovsky Bank of Stem Cells (St. Petersburg), Head of the Research Laboratory of Cell Technologies of North-Western State Medical University n.a. Mechnikov.

The scientific interests of Alexander Smolyaninov lay in the field of cell and gene technologies. He dreamed to create a company working both on research of stem cells and their use in treating diseases. As CEO of Pokrovsky Bank of Stem Cells since its launching, Prof. Smolyaninov practically lived in the bank, giving all his strength and knowledge for the benefit of enterprise, the development of its technological and scientific base, formation and strengthening of its credibility.

Almost since the foundation of the Association of Cryobanks of Cord Blood, Other Human Tissues and Cells, Pokrovsky Bank of Stem Cells became an associate member of the Association. Alexander Smolyaninov personally coordinated the bank’s participation in the work of the Association, took an active part in the discussion of hot issues of the industry of cord blood banking, its legal regulation, willingly shared his professional knowledge and experience, promoted international cooperation in the field of biotechnology, assisted in site content. Prof. Smolyaninov was constantly full of new ideas and plans for the development of cell technology and regenerative medicine in Russia and abroad.

Association of Cryobanks brings deep condolences to the family of Prof. Smolyaninov and hopes that his colleagues will worthily continue the projects, started by Alexander Borisovich.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Ушел из жизни профессор Смолянинов Александр Борисович

smolyaninovАссоциация криобанков с грустью сообщает, что 7 мая 2015 г. скоропостижно и безвременно ушел из жизни генеральный директор Покровского банка стволовых клеток (г. Санкт-Петербург), заведующий НИЛ клеточных технологий СЗГМУ им. И. И. Мечникова, д.мед.н., проф. Александр Борисович Смолянинов.

Научные интересы Александра Борисовича лежали в области клеточных и генных технологий. Он мечтал создать предприятие, работающее по изучению стволовых клеток и применению их в лечении заболеваний. Будучи Генеральным директором Покровского банка стволовых клеток с момента основания, Александр Борисович практически жил в банке, отдавая все свои силы и знания на благо предприятия, развитие его технологической и научной базы, формирование и укрепление его авторитета.

Почти с момента создания Ассоциации криобанков пуповинной крови, других тканей и клеток человека Покровский банк стволовых клеток стал ассоциативным членом Ассоциации. Александр Борисович Смолянинов лично координировал участие Покровского банка в работе Ассоциации, принимал активное участие в обсуждении актуальных вопросов отрасли банкирования пуповинной крови, решении проблем ее правового регулирования, охотно делился профессиональными знаниями и опытом, развивал международное сотрудничество в области биотехнологий, помогал в информационном наполнении сайта. Александр Борисович был постоянно полон новых идей и планов по развитию клеточных технологий и регенеративной медицины в России и зарубежом.

Ассоциация криобанков приносит искренние соболезнования родным и близким проф. Смолянинова и надеется, что коллеги Александра Борисовича достойно продолжат начатое им дело.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.