For the first time in the world placental stem cells, processed by ICT have restored the hopelessly damaged heart

amosov-ict_assoc
The Ukrainian scientists succeeded to achieve an incredible success in the treatment of heart failure of critical degree after myocardial infarction. For the first time in the world cardiac surgeons of the National Institute of Cardiovascular Surgery n.a. MM Amosov of AMS of Ukraine performed intracardiac injection of placental stem cells during the operation of coronary artery bypass grafting. Such an operation has not yet been made in the world earlier. The preparation of placental stem cells, injected to the patient was produced by the biotechnological laboratory of the Institute of Cell Therapy (Kyiv), which is a co-founder and full member of the Association of Cryobanks.

A patient with an incurable heart disease agreed to be enrolled in the experiment. The doctors could not advise him anything other than heart transplant.

“I am feeling just fantastic, as I tell the surgeons – this is incredible! Just a miracle!”, the patient says.

It’s hard to believe that recently this cheerful, energetic man has experienced clinical death. And he received a verdict from the doctors that his heart had exhausted its resource.

“Clinical death was a surprise last year, I was suggested an experiment, for the public benefit, to be like a cosmonaut the first one,” says Sergei Prokopenko, a patient of the National Institute of Cardiovascular Surgery.

At that time, a team of scientists at the Amosov Institute, in collaboration with the Cryobank of the Institute of Cell Therapy completed experiments on the use of cell therapy in animals and obtained convincing results and permission to carry out an operation on a human. But on such a rate of restoration of heart after operation the surgeons did not even hope.

“To be honest, we did not expect such an effect, we did not expect it immediately. It took very little time, and the effect is very good. This technique deserves the existence and I am sure that it will be applied in many clinics in patients, who are not operable. The technique was elaborated for the patients who die from heart failure”, – says Dr. Anatoliy Rudenko, cardiac surgeon.

The result exceeded expectations. Already a week after the operation, a hopeless patient is on his feet and is about to return to work.

Placental stem cells, introduced directly to the heart muscle during the operation of aorta-coronary bypass restored the damaged heart.

“These stem cells were obtained directly from the placenta. This is a cryopreserved drug. The drug was defrosted, washed and injected into the heart, affected with this pathology. The injected cells reduce inflammation, improve nutrition and oxygen supply in the damaged area of the heart “- says Volodymyr Shabliy, deputy director of the Cryobank of the Institute of Cell Therapy.

Recently, in collaboration with the National Institute of Cardiovascular Surgery n.a. M.M. Amosov of NAMS of Ukraine and the Institute of Genetic and Regenerative Medicine of the NAMS of Ukraine, the Institute of Cell Therapy initiated a clinical trial “Evaluation of the effectiveness of stem cells from bone marrow, placenta and their combinations in the treatment of patients with ischemic cardiomyopathy. ” Also during many years the Institute of Cell Therapy in cooperation with the National Institute of Cardiovascular Surgery n.a. M.M. Amosov of NAMS of Ukraine, the Institute of Molecular Biology and Genetics of NAS of Ukraine and the Institute of Pediatrics, Obstetrics and Gynecology of NAMS of Ukraine is implementing a research project on the treatment of congenital heart pathologies in children.

The result of this long-lasting collaboration is the incredible success of heart restoration in the critical patient with heart failure. However, despite the fact that the result of the Ukrainian “know-how” is impressive, for the widespread adoption of this method of treatment in world cardiac surgery, it has yet to be confirmed in dozens of other patients.

Source: http://podrobnosti.ua/2207663-ukransk-vchen-zrobili-sensatsjne-vdkrittja-u-kardohrurg.html

Previously, we have already reported an extremely successful case of heart restoration in a patient, an ATO veteran, with cardiomyopathy. Cell therapy has saved the boy from heart transplantation. The cell preparation, which was applied to the patient, was also manufactured by the Biotechnological Laboratory of the Institute of Cell Therapy (http://stemcellbank.org.ua/preparat-stvolovyx-kletok-izgotovlennyj-biotexnologicheskoj-laboratoriej-ikt-spas-bojcaa-ato-ot -transplantation-serdca /).

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Впервые в мире стволовые клетки плаценты, обработанные в ИКТ, восстановили безнадежно пораженное сердце

amosov-ict_assocУкраинским ученым удалось достичь невероятного успеха в лечении сердечной недостаточности критической степени после перенесенного инфаркта миокарда. Впервые в мире кардиохирурги Национального института сердечно-сосудистой хирургии имени Н.М. Амосова АМН Украины осуществили внутрисердечную инъекцию стволовых клеток плаценты во время операции аортокоронарного шунтирования. Такой операции в мире еще не делали. Препарат стволовых клеток плаценты, который ввели больному, изготовлен биотехнологической лабораторией Института клеточной терапии (Киев), соучредителя и действительного члена Ассоциации криобанков.

В эксперименте рискнул принять участие пациент с неизлечимой болезнью сердца, которому врачи не могли посоветовать ничего, кроме трансплантации.

«Самочувствие просто фантастическое, как я говорю хирургам – бомба! Просто чудо какое-то!»

Трудно поверить, что недавно этот веселый, энергичный человек пережил клиническую смерть. И получил приговор от врачей, что его сердце исчерпало свой ресурс.

«Клиническая смерть в прошлом году была внезапной. Предложили мне эксперимент. Для доброго дела эксперимент, как космонавт – первый», – рассказывает Сергей Прокопенко, пациент Национального института сердечно-сосудистой хирургии.

К тому времени группа ученых института Амосова в сотрудничестве с Криобанком Института клеточной терапии завершила опыты по применению клеточной терапии на животных, получила убедительные результаты и разрешение провести операцию на человеке. Но на такую скорость восстановления сердца после операции хирурги даже не рассчитывали.

«Честно говоря, мы не ожидали такого эффекта, сразу не надеялись. Прошло очень мало времени, а эффект очень хороший. Эта методика заслуживает существования и я уверен, что она будет применена во многих клиниках на людях, которые практически не операбельные. Именно на этих больных, которые погибают от сердечной недостаточности – рассчитана эта методика », – рассказывает Анатолий Руденко, кардиохирург.

Результат превзошел ожидания. Уже через неделю после операции, безнадежный пациент встал на ноги и собирается возвращаться на работу.

Оживить умирающий сердце помогли стволовые клетки плаценты, которые во время операции шунтирования ввели прямо в сердечную мышцу.

«Эти стволовые клетки получены прямо из плаценты. Это – криоконсервированный препарат. Препарат был разморожен, отмыт и введен внутрисердечно пациенту с этой патологией. Введенные клетки уменьшают воспалительный процесс, улучшают питание и поступление кислорода в поврежденную область сердца», – рассказывает Владимир Шаблий, заместитель директора Криобанка Института клеточной терапии.

Совместно с Национальным институтом сердечно-сосудистой хирургии имени Н.М. Амосова НАМН Украины и ГУ «Институт генетической и регенеративной медицины НАМН Украины» Институт клеточной терапии инициировал проведение клинического исследования «Оценка эффективности применения стволовых клеток миокарда, костного мозга, плаценты и их комбинаций при лечении больных ишемической кардимиопатией». Также в течение многих лет Институт клеточной терапии в сотрудничестве с Национальным институтом сердечно-сосудистой хирургии им. Н.М. Амосова НАМН Украины, Институтом молекулярной биологии и генетики НАН Украины и Институтом педиатрии акушерства и гинекологии НАМН Украины реализует научно-исследовательский проект по лечению врожденных патологий сердца у детей.

Результатом этой длительного сотрудничества и является невероятный успех восстановления сердца в обреченного пациента с сердечной недостаточностью. Однако, несмотря на то, что результат украинского “ноу-хау” впечатляющий, для широкого внедрения данного метода лечения в мировую кардиохирургию, его еще надо подтвердить на десятках других пациентов.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.