The Association of Cryobanks supports World Cord Blood Day

In order to raise public awareness on the biological value of umbilical cord blood and the possibility of its long-term storage, November 17 is a World Cord Blood Day.

Cord blood biobanking is supported by the most reputable international organizations, including the Red Cross, and almost all religious confessions in the world. In most U.S. states, maternity hospitals staff are required to inform women in labor about the possibility of storing umbilical cord blood in private biobanks for their own family or to donate it to public banks. The latter will transfer the processed donor umbilical cord blood to patients to whom it is suitable immunologically.

“Liquid gold of medicine”, “the greatest success story in the biotechnology”, “gift of life”, “gift of nature” this is not all how umbilical cord blood was called during 32 years of its successful use for the treatment of diseases! After all, the cellular composition of umbilical cord blood is more similar to bone marrow than peripheral blood, because it contains a large number of hematopoietic stem cells – CD34 +.

Hematopoietic stem cell transplant, better known as bone marrow transplant, is the only treatment for some malignant and genetic diseases of the blood and metabolism. In 1988, the world’s first successful transplant of the umbilical cord blood instead of a bone marrow was performed in France. Subsequently, umbilical cord blood transplants became part of medical protocols, and today more than 40,000 such applications have been performed in hematology alone. In Japan alone, several thousand umbilical cord blood transplants are performed annually.

Umbilical cord blood stem cells in clinical trials are also used in the treatment of autism, cerebral palsy, pulmonary dysplasia, cardiovascular disease and others. The efficacy of umbilical cord blood stem cells and umbilical cord in the treatment of COVID-19 is studied.

Ukrainian scientists have also achieved significant success in this direction. In particular, scientists and doctors of the Institute of Cell Therapy have developed methods for treating complications of COVID-19, diabetes, viral hepatitis and liver cirrhosis, cardiomyopathy, coronary heart disease, critical ischemia of the lower extremities, osteoarthritis, acute pancreatitis using the stem cells of the perinatal tisuues (umbilical cord, placenta, umbilical cord blood).

In Ukraine, the Association of Cryobanks annually supports World Cord Blood Day, and encourages expectant parents to use the services of only licensed umbilical cord blood banks (licensed by the Ministry of Health of Ukraine). An additional advantage for the biobank will also be the availability of international accreditations.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Ассоциация криобанков поддерживает Всемирный день пуповинной крови

С целью повышения осведомленности населения о биологической ценности пуповинной крови и возможностях ее длительного хранения 17 ноября отмечается Всемирный День пуповинной крови.

Биобанкинг пуповинной крови поддерживают авторитетные международные организации, в частности «Красный крест», и почти все религиозные конфессии мира. В большинстве штатов США законодательство обязывает персонал роддомов информировать рожениц о возможностях сохранения пуповинной крови в частных биобанках для нужд собственной семьи или благотворительного пожертвования ее публичным банкам. Последние передадут обработанную донорскую пуповинную кровь пациентам, которым она подойдет иммунологически.

«Жидкое золото медицины», «наибольшая история успеха в области биотехнологий», «дар жизни», «дар природы» — как только не называли пуповинную кровь в течение 32 лет ее успешного применения для лечения болезней! Ведь по клеточному составу пуповинная кровь более похожа на костный мозг, чем периферическую кровь, так как содержит большое количество кроветворных стволовых клеток — CD34+.

Трансплантация кроветворных стволовых клеток, более известная как трансплантация костного мозга, — единственный метод лечения некоторых злокачественных и генетических болезней крови и метаболизма. В 1988 г. во Франции была выполнена первая в мире успешная трансплантация пуповинной крови вместо костного мозга. Впоследствии трансплантация пуповинной крови вошла в медицинские протоколы, и на сегодня таких применений только в гематологии выполнено более 40 000. Только в Японии ежегодно производится несколько тысяч трансплантаций пуповинной крови.
Стволовые клетки пуповинной крови в рамках клинических исследований также применяются в лечении аутизма, детского церебрального паралича, легочной дисплазии, сердечно-сосудистых заболеваний и др. Изучается эффективность стволовых клеток пуповинной крови и пупочного канатика в лечении COVID-19.
Значительных успехов в этом направлении достигли и украинские ученые. В частности, учеными и врачами Института клеточной терапии разработаны методы лечения осложнений COVID-19, сахарного диабета, вирусных гепатитов и цирроза печени, кардиомиопатии, ишемической болезни сердца, критической ишемии нижних конечностей, остеоартроза, острого панкреатита с использованием стволовых клеток перинатальных тканей (пуповинная кровь, пуповина, плацента).

В Украине Ассоциация криобанков ежегодно поддерживает Всемирный день пуповиной крови, и призывает будущих родителей пользоваться услугами только лицензированных банков пуповинной крови (лицензия МОЗ Украины). Дополнительным преимуществом для биобанка также будет наличие международных аккредитаций.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.